SA Public Holidays

Public holiday information for South Australia (SA) and Adelaide residents and visitors.

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s Day*Sunday, 1 January 2023PublicSA Wide
New Year’s Day HolidayMonday, 2 January 2023PublicSA Wide
Australia DayThursday, 26 January 2023PublicSA Wide
Adelaide Cup DayMonday, 13 March 2023PublicSA Wide
Good FridayFriday, 7 April 2023PublicSA Wide
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 8 April 2023PublicSA Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 10 April 2023PublicSA Wide
Anzac DayTuesday, 25 April 2023PublicSA Wide
King’s BirthdayMonday, 12 June 2023PublicSA Wide
Labour DayMonday, 2 October 2023PublicSA Wide
Christmas Eve (Part day from 7pm)Sunday, 24 December 2023PublicSA Wide
Christmas DayMonday, 25 December 2023PublicSA Wide
Proclamation Day Public HolidayTuesday, 26 December 2023PublicSA Wide
New Year’s Eve (Part day from 7pm)Sunday, 31 December 2023PublicSA Wide


Every Sunday in South Australia is nominally a public holiday under the Holidays Act 1910 (SA).

*In 2023 New Year’s Day falls on a Sunday. As a result there is a public holiday on the following Monday, 2nd January.

Disclaimer: The South Australia Public Holidays website is operated as a service to those looking to get an idea of when holidays are occurring. Whilst all care is taken to ensure the data presented on this site is accurate South Australia Public Holidays won’t be held accountable for inaccuracies within this website. It is recommended that visitors cross reference the info on this site with other Government websites also.

SA Specific Public Holidays

There are a total of seven national public holidays observed within Australia. In addition, each state has their own public holidays that are set by local government authorities.

In some states there are also local show or event holidays that are observed by regions within each state.

The national public holidays in Australia are:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Australia Day
  • ANZAC Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day

Note that in South Australia Boxing Day is referred to as Proclamation Day.

The public holidays that are exclusive to South Australia are:

  • Adelaide Cup Day
  • King’s Birthday
  • Labour Day
  • Christmas Eve (part day holiday from 7pm)
  • New Year’s Eve (part day holiday from 7pm)

Note that King’s Birthday and Labour Day are observed in other states within Australia but may not be on the same day.

What is Adelaide Cup Day?

Adelaide Cup Day is a public holiday observed on the second Monday of March each year in South Australia. The Adelaide Cup is a major horse racing carnival held at Morphettville Racecourse in South Australia.

The Adelaide Cup is a 3200m horse race, which is the same distance as the Melbourne Cup.